Pursuant to Article VI, § 156(a), of the Alabama Constitution, the Judicial Inquiry Commission consists of nine members: a judge of an intermediate appellate court, appointed by the Alabama Supreme Court; three persons who are not lawyers or judges and a district judge, appointed by the Governor and subject to confirmation by the Alabama Senate; two circuit judges, appointed by the Alabama Circuit Judges’ Association; and two members of the Alabama State Bar, appointed by the Commissioners of the Alabama State Bar. Thus, seven Commission members are appointed by elected Alabama officials, with four of those members also being confirmed by the Alabama Senate. Each Commission member serves a four-year term. The composition of the Judicial Inquiry Commission and the mechanism of appointment of its members by various public, elected officials and entities are very similar to all but a few of the judicial-conduct systems in the United States.


NameMembership TypeCityAppointed by:
Maibeth Porter, ChairAttorneyBirminghamCommissioners of the Alabama State Bar
Hon. Jeremy Taylor, First Vice ChairCircuit JudgeFort PayneAlabama Circuit Judges' Association
Hon. Michael Sherman, Second Vice ChairCircuit JudgeMobileAlabama Circuit Judges' Association
Ralph MaloneCitizen MemberHuntsvilleGovernor
William "Bo" MatthewsCitizen MemberHuntsvilleGovernor
Hon. Adrian JohnsonDistrict JudgeHaynevilleGovernor
Dr. Nichole ThompsonCitizen MemberMontgomeryGovernor
Hon. Terry A. MoorePresiding Judge, Court of Civil AppealsMontgomeryAlabama Supreme Court
Halron W. TurnerAttorneyChatomCommissioners of the Alabama State Bar


Elizabeth C. BernExecutive Director
Chandra BrownAssistant Executive Director
John A. SeldenLegal Counsel
Jacob D. JacksonLegal Counsel
Valicia TalleyExecutive Secretary
Jenny GarrettRetired, Part-Time
Rosa H. DavisRetired, Part-Time